I should be more careful when wishing…

Remember when I said we were supposed to get some snow? Remember when I said I was ok with that??

I should have clarified that statement….

What we got over a 24 hour period was 35 inches of snow. Thirty Five. THIRTY EFFIN FIVE INCHES OF SNOW.

You might have heard about it….we made the Big Time news….

In case you’re wondering what 35 inches of snow dumped on your house feels like, here’s a pictorial:

Ain't this some shit??

Ain’t this some shit??

Now add to this the fact that we’ve been without power since 11 a.m. Friday morning & I can sum it up for you in one word: calamitous.

Want another? Crappy….

The first path Hubs shoveled through the driveway...

The first path Hubs shoveled through the driveway…

Also? Smelly. Because in a total electric house, no electricity means no hot water. It wasn’t until Sunday that the stench of our own funk drove us into a cold shower….

My front door...

My front door…

My view from the inside...

My view from the inside…

It’s not unheard of for this area to get snowfall in October. An inch or two….but no one was prepared for almost 3 feet of snow on October 4th; least of all our trees, still laden with leaves that allowed every snow flake to cling to them . As a result, trees collapsed, splitting to the ground taking power lines with them…

My poor Russian Olive tree...

My poor Russian Olive tree…

We’re some of the lucky ones, we have a small generator that can power things like our phone chargers, & the crockpot etc. Our house is extremely well insulated, so we’ve donned sweatshirts & warm socks, put an extra quilt on the bed & are comfortable. Tonight Hubs was able to connect our cable box & internet modem to the generator, hence why I’m able to post this…

That's Hubs '54 Chevy under there!

That’s Hubs ’54 Chevy under there!

I’ve read a lot of FB postings of missing pets (snow drifts so high the dogs just walked right over the fences), livestock tangled  & dead in barbed wire fences, frantic relatives unable to reach elderly loved ones, heartbreaking stories of frustration and fear.

On Saturday emergency responders spent most of the day rescuing motorists stranded  overnight in their cars. A “No Travel Allowed” ordinance was put into place until Sunday morning to try & give emergency personnel, road crews & power crews the chance to do what was needed.

We cheered when we heard this guy in the neighborhood!

We cheered when we heard this guy in the neighborhood!

Of course people ignored the directive, as soon as they could dig their cars out, off to the Walmars they had to go consequently getting stuck on the barely plowed streets, adding to the problem…

People are stupid. Fact.

Our roads have been cleared for the most part, but we’ll stay put until the Travel Advisory is lifted…I’m hoping that happens tomorrow so I can go hang with Peanut and her Mommy…I miss them!

We’re warm, we’re dry, we’re safe….life is not so bad!

🙂

 

One thought on “I should be more careful when wishing…

  1. Man, I take a couple days off the internet and look what I miss? I’m glad you and Luke are safe and warm; that snow looks quite chilly! Reminds me of my Hubs telling about a snowfall in Buffalo, NY where he could go out a second floor window and slide down to the ground! So sorry you’re without power, that’s no fun; when that happened on the farm we didn’t even have water as the well pump wouldn’t run!

Leave a Reply

