What was old is new…but still old

OK.

Y’all know my obsession with taking perfectly good but old stuff, slapping a coat of paint on it to make it all shiny and new looking and then distressing the crap outta it to make it look old and worn out, right??

I did it again!

If ya remember waaaayyy back to The Wedding and my 11th hour hunt for kitchen chairs, then you know that the chairs around my table are mismatched…well to be fair, 2 of them matched as they came with the table inherited from the Dearly Departed M.I.L but the rest were picked up CHEAP from here and there just to have enough chairs. I never minded that they are all different shapes and styles because for the last decade or so, I have dreamed of  such a thing happening so that I could make them each even more unique by painting them all a different color. Well…..

My dream has come true!

Forgive the kinda crappy cell phone pics. I was too lazy to go back upstairs to get my camera after having made 4 trips down to the garage already, so the “before” pics got taken with my phone. And to be fair, I took the “after” pics the same way, just to compare apples to apples….

ResizedImage_1370813614595

This was after painting, but before all the fun distressing. The blue and green were spray painted because I had the right colors. The raspberry red and yellow ones were done with homemade chalk paint. The red wasn’t quite the right shade (a bit too pink) but I used what I had on hand and knew that I wanted to either glaze them or finish with dark paste wax so that would tone everything down…

Who knew that I wouldn’t find dark paste wax anywhere locally? So I ended up using a Minwax product called “Wood-Sheen” which is a rubbing stain and finishing liquid. It worked pretty well…

ResizedImage_1370813666511-horz

I’m much happier with the color now…and it was actually easier than using paste wax; no buffing…

ResizedImage_1371152102718

ResizedImage_1370813698252-horz

ResizedImage_1371152146006

I do still want to try using the dark paste wax on something but reckon I’ll have to order it….The blue chair also got a new cover on it’s seat. I heart it!

ResizedImage_1370813666511-horz

ResizedImage_1371152115580

Being the lightest color, the Wood-Sheen made the biggest difference on the yellow. It really deepened the shade which is exactly what I wanted.

ResizedImage_1370813709708-horz

This one…..I’d been wanting to do this “spray paint through lace” technique I’d seen on Pinterest forever ago. However, the lace tablecloth I found at Goodwill for $1.99 made more of a snakeskin kind of pattern than a lacy one!

ResizedImage_1371148273509

Or is it just me? At any rate, it was definitely fun to do!

ResizedImage_1371148372439

ResizedImage_1371148415739

I got the perfect amount of age on them during the distressing process and I can’t even tell you how happy all that color in my dining room makes me! Suffice it to say it’s a whole lot of happy!

ResizedImage_1371148350571

This is the newest addition to the table top set I showed you a while back, the milkglass pieces are votive holders I think (?) as was the metal sphere in the middle that I spray painted with Rustoleum’s Oil Rubbed Bronze and then I just glued them all together and stuck a red hydrangea on the top. Also makes me happy!

Lots of colorful happiness going on around here! Hope y’all find some too…

🙂

6 thoughts on “What was old is new…but still old

  1. Bravo! I love the multi-colored chairs and the cover on the blue chair is very cheery! The paint through lace technique is cool, I don’t do much DIY but if I did that would be on my list. It does look sort of like a cross between lace and snakeskin; I like it!

Leave a Reply

