*Sigh*

**Disclaimer! If you’re looking for sunshine and puppies, go away. It ain’t happening here today**

Y’all….I’m in a funk.

My health insurance has put me there. OK, to be fair, it wasn’t alone but it was kinda the last straw…

When I chose early retirement last June to give my herniated disk(s) a chance to heal, I gave up 100% employer paid health insurance along with my paycheck. Before leaving my job I did an exhaustive search for private health coverage, finding out there are only 3 carriers in my region; BCBS, DakotaCare, and United Health. I’d had BCBS for over 5 years through employers, and had purchased an individual policy for Hubs with them. They turned me down flat. United Health was ridiculously expensive, giving COBRA coverage stiff competition in the “Make ’em choose between groceries and insurance” category. DakotaCare gladly insured me, but put a rider on the policy excluding coverage for anything spinal related. Not just my pre existing disk issues…so if I fall off the roof and break my back they’re not paying a dime, even though it was completely unrelated to my current issue. Which is a crock of crap. BUT, I took it as it was my only option. I’ve paid $232 a month for it since July of  last year…

I got a reminder call from my Dr. last week about my upcoming yearly physical. I pulled out my insurance policy to see what the coverage for a “well woman” exam is….nada, that’s what. I’ll pay 50% co-insurance for the exam itself, 100% of any diagnostic tests required, including the mammogram, until my $5000 deductible is met. I haven’t used this insurance during the entire time I’ve had it. Not one claim. I would have liked to have continued treatment for my back, but since it’s not covered that ain’t an option…

Coincidentally, the renewal notice for my insurance arrived at about the same time as my appointment reminder and OH JOY, my premium is going up $24 a month, bringing the total cost of insurance that I’ve yet to use, that doesn’t cover the one thing I need coverage for, and that won’t even pay for a once a year wellness exam, to $256 a month…$3072 dollars a year.

Someone explain to me again the “horrors” of a Universal Healthcare system cuz it’s looking pretty good from where I’m standing…

Every month after the mortgage and utilities are paid, I look at the balance in our account and think “I can put a hefty chunk towards the credit card balance, or make a nice deposit into our IRA account” (both things I haven’t been able to do since leaving my job)….and then the automatic debit for the insurance goes through and that surplus of funds is gone, leaving me…well……pissed…and depressed. Enough to make me seriously consider going back to work regardless of the pain of sitting/standing…

I’m dropping my coverage. It’s a gamble I know, it’s a huge risk. But I’m doing it anyway because the stress of worrying about money is gonna kill me anyway so it’s pretty much a Catch-22 …I reckon if something catastrophic happens to me I’ll become one of those drains on the taxpayers everyone’s always bitching about…

I recently checked into filing for SS disability, found out I need to have been unable to work for 12 months prior to filing (almost there) and that I have to have been seen by my Dr. relating to my medical condition in the 6 months prior to filing…well that’s a problem now isn’t it? Thank you worthless health insurance…

I’m gonna dig my way out of this funk, I promise…but it may take me a while as right now I’m inclined to just wallow in it.

Send happy juju…

And cupcakes, with buttercream.

Also, some mint and limes so I can make me a mojito would be nice…

Golden Retriever puppy

In the meantime, this is me, icing my aching brain. Only I’m a lot less adorable…

😦

2 thoughts on “*Sigh*

  1. Well ma’am, ya done out funked me! So sorry you’re having to deal with this crap! Hugs and buttercream headed your way my sweet! Hang in there.

Leave a Reply

