It is TOO easy being green. Or in my case cheap….

Homemade cleaning products. My new obsession….

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cheap, effective (as good as the spendy store bought Brands and better in some cases) better for the planet, cheap, safer to use around my GB and dogs, CHEAP.

Did I mention they’re cheap??

Fact.

Most of my recipes came from (some adapted, some I love verbatim) from One Good Thing by Jillee who I discovered on Pinterest…PINTEREST IS NOT JUST FOR CRAFTY BIZ!!! And Miss Jillee is kinda fab, just sayin’…..

I’ve used Tide liquid detergent for years. I bought the 100 oz bottle which cost around $12.00 and lasted Hubs and I about 2 months. I’ve been using the homemade version for about a month. It costs $1.28 to make, cleans just as well even on Hubs oil/gas/diesel fuel soaked clothes….

Laundry Soap

  • ½ cup Borax
  • ½ cup Arm & Hammer washing soda
  • ½ cup Dawn
  • ½ cup Sun Oxy (I get mine at Family Dollar)
  • 1 cup white vinegar

Pour Sun oxy, borax and soda into a gallon jug (I saved the last empty Tide liquid container I had and used it) add 2 cups HOT water. Swirl around until dissolved.  Let cool. Add vinegar. Fill almost to top of jug with water (add slowly to prevent bubbling up) then add Dawn. (I let the bubbles dissipate, then add more water until my jug is full).

No, our clothes DO NOT smell like vinegar. They smell fresh and clean. And bonus, I discovered that vinegar is a a natural fabric softener and also seems to help kill the petroleum product smell on Hubs work clothes….who knew?

I’m also using a homemade dishwasher detergent. I’ve used liquid Cascade for forever. I bought the big bottle for around $7.50 and it would last about a month. DIY version: $2.64. Not as dramatic a difference, mostly because in the recipe that I adapted mine from called for citric acid from a pool supply store which is much cheaper per oz than the Lemi-shine powder I could easily find at Hell-mart while getting the rest of my groceries. At .66 per batch for that alone, it drove my DIY price up (the citric acid is supposed to be about a fourth of that cost). The DIY detergent has done a good job when used with a white vinegar chaser, however it does harden in the jar I mixed it in, not so much that I hate it and refuse to use it but just enough to make me want to tweak the recipe the next time. I’ve read that if I had a silica packet (like they put in shoe boxes) it would solve the hardening delhima.

Normal
0

false
false
false

EN-US
X-NONE
X-NONE

/* Style Definitions */
table.MsoNormalTable
{mso-style-name:”Table Normal”;
mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0;
mso-tstyle-colband-size:0;
mso-style-noshow:yes;
mso-style-priority:99;
mso-style-parent:””;
mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt;
mso-para-margin-top:0in;
mso-para-margin-right:0in;
mso-para-margin-bottom:10.0pt;
mso-para-margin-left:0in;
line-height:115%;
mso-pagination:widow-orphan;
font-size:11.0pt;
font-family:”Calibri”,”sans-serif”;
mso-ascii-font-family:Calibri;
mso-ascii-theme-font:minor-latin;
mso-hansi-font-family:Calibri;
mso-hansi-theme-font:minor-latin;
mso-bidi-font-family:”Times New Roman”;
mso-bidi-theme-font:minor-bidi;}

Homemade Dishwasher Soap {soft water recipe}


  • 1 cup borax
  • 1 cup washing soda ($.33)
  • 1/2 cup food grade citric acid ($.66)
  • 1/2 cup Sun Oxy

* for hard water, try increasing the amount of borax or add 1/4 cup course kosher salt, not regular salt!


Combine ingredients and use sparingly. I use only about 1 to 1 1/2 tsp. per load. (For hard water, you may need more).


**putting a 1/4 -1/2 cup of white vinegar in a cup on the top rack of dishwasher is a great rinse aid for sparkling glassware, no more more jet-dry!**

Plain white uber cheap vinegar is my new best friend. I buy it by the gallon (2 at a time!). I cleaned my entire house top to bottom (except for wood furniture, polished with my 3/4 olive oil – 1/4 lemon juice concoction. They GLEAM. I alternate polishing with just using a dry microfiber duster) using nothing but baking soda in a shaker jar (think empty parmesan cheese shaker)  and a spray bottle filled with 1/2 water – 1/2 vinegar. Windows, mirrors, counter tops and tile floor sparkle. LOVE! **note:  be sure to use newspaper to clean the mirrors/windows, paper towels will leave streaks even with Windex** Why did I always think I needed 4 different cleaners just to clean a bathroom???

Two more things I formerly thought I couldn’t live without and spent a fortune on: Downy Wrinkle Release and Febreze. New recipes work fabulously and honest to Pete the Febreze works better on my doggy smell encrusted carpets…

DIY Wrinkle Releaser

  • 1/3 cup Fabric softener
  • 1/3 White Vinegar
  • 1/3 Water

Mix in spray bottle!

Fake it Febreze

  • 1/4 Cup of Your Favorite Fabric Softener
  • 2 Tablespoons Baking Soda
  • Hot Tap Water – To Fill the Bottle to the Top

Shake it up in your Spray Bottle and you’re ready to go.

I didn’t do a cost breakdown on these but both store bought brands cost around $7.00 each, the DIY’s cost pennies to make. PENNIES!!

Yes, I still shave my armpits. No, I’m not wearing flowers in my hair (although I have developed a penchant for long loose dresses when I’m at home. Ok….sometimes I wear them to town!) I can’t remember the last time I hugged a tree. I haven’t traded my SUV for a VW van. I’m cheap. If this stuff works as well and saves me money at Hell-mart every week that’s more moolah for my craft stash!!

Admit it, I could TOTALLY rock this look….jus’ sayin’

I also have “recipes” for dryer sheets, and those color catcher sheets but I haven’t tried those yet, waiting to run out of the store bought ones I already have….I’ll let y’all know!

I just really like the idea of keeping a little bit more of our money in MY pocket and a little less in the already over stuffed pockets of rich corporations. And they work, I wouldn’t use them if they didn’t and sure wouldn’t suggest that anyone else did. Promise!

If you try them, PLEASE let me know how they work for you and if you tweaked them to make them better!

🙂

Leave a Reply

