He’s home!! Also some other stuff….

My Best Friend is home from his Colorado Elk hunt….THANK. THE. LORD.

I missed him something awful, and haven’t slept worth a damn since he left. Last night? Slept like a itty bitty baby who’s being held by it’s Mommy….

I’m seriously considering imposing a ban on all hunting trips longer than 3 nights…..

So, being that Hubs is here and all I want to do is talk, talk, talk to him and look at him and occasionally hug and smooch him AND Vivi will be here tomorrow (yippee!) this post will have to last y’all a few days!

Here’s what I’ve been up to the last couple of days…

Redid my guest bedroom….

Avery’s Mommy helped me paint the walls….It’s a custom color because I’m cheap, I knew a gallon of paint would be way too much so I bought a $3.00 2 oz Valspar paint sample and mixed about half of it with some white latex paint I already had. Got exactly the color I wanted and saved about 20 bucks off the price of buying a premixed gallon….

Go me.

This dresser is my favorite thing in the room. It’s been in my family for forever, it was my GrandDads, used by several family members over the decades and ended up in my room as a kid and I’ve had it ever since. It used to have doors in that middle section, my children tore those off…. It has not had an easy life. Now, picture if you will, white wicker baskets lined in colorful fabric that I’m going to find for cheap at a Goodwill and put in the empty spot where the doors used to be….

Can ya see them?? Fabulous right?

Painted with homemade chalk paint, distressed all to hell and then lovingly given 3 coats of hand-rubbed finishing wax. I added the wood medallions on the drawers, $1.99 for a package of 2 at Hobby Lobby and spray painted the original hardware matte black….

My floors are NOT slanted. Nor is the table warped and tilted. The photographer however is….

 

This is my $4.00 Goodwill end table. Also done with homemade chalk paint with the medallion added. I heart it….

All Goodwill finds I got for cheap, spray painted white, glazed with gray….I adore. My fav is the button monogram I did on old burlap!

This little heart pillow that took me about 30 minutes to make is also one of my favorite things in the room!

So that’s it. That’s what kept me busy while pining away for my Hubs and the whole redo cost me about $30 bucks.

Go me again!

Now all I have to do is find someone to quilt the hand stitched quilt top that was the last one my Grandma made. The colors for the whole room were chosen to compliment that quilt that will be used as a bedspread….I like the quilt I had on hand to use but Grandma’s will be FANTASTIC! Any volunteers???

🙂

2 thoughts on “He’s home!! Also some other stuff….

Leave a Reply

