I’m not M.I.A, I’m BUSY!

Oy.

Double Oy…

This has been a busy week so far, and it’s showing no signs of letting up. What happened to lazy, sleep in, do a bunch of nuthin’ retirement??

Yesterday, I did a bunch of laundry for the Hubs,  then I ran multiple errands. I’m not a fan of errand running…I am however a fan of refinishing furniture so I came home and did 2 end tables! Fun for me!!

FORGOT. THE. BEFORE. PICS……AGAIN.

I’m so fired. Seriously…..

One table is an old one I bought at a garage sale about 22 years ago. It was nice at the time but life with my daughters was not kind to it….it was ugly. Early American style, with spindles and an ugly maple finish and a marble top. I was soooooo over it. So it got a couple coats of paint….

I’ve been reading all over the place about chalk paint. It’s a new trend in the crafty world. It’s UBER expensive, like $35 smackaroo’s for a quart. So like everything else, some brilliant craft Queen figured out how to DIY the stuff. That’s the version I used, I wanted to try it for a couple of reasons;  one being that you don’t have to prep the wood (or whatever surface you’re using it on) so no sanding, no stripping, no primer paint. I am on board for that! Second reason being it gives a nice matte finish that distresses beautifully….

So I bought a $3 dollar 2 oz sample jar of a nice taupe-y color latex at Lowes. Mixed it 2:1 with Plaster of Paris and a little water per the DIY instructions. I sanded only the rough chipped places on the tables to smooth the edges, I did not sand the gloss off the surface….and I painted away. It left kinda bad brush stroke marks, but I’d read that was normal so I let the first coat dry (it dries really fast, like in 10 minutes) and then gave it a second coat. Much better! The only place it needed a third coat was the stupid spindles. I HATE SPINDLES!!! When it dries it has a slightly rough texture so I lightly sanded it with a 220 grit sanding block, did my distressing thing and gave it 3 coats of finishing wax, buffing thoroughly in between. I’ve never used finishing wax before either. I like it….it gives just a nice soft sheen instead of a super shiny gloss like most sealers do. It’s supposed to be super durable plus it smoothed out all the brush strokes….

This table is the end table my Hubs uses so I wanted to cover the worn out marble with something MAN friendly….which ruled out all of my scrapbook paper I normally use to decoupage! I decided on covering it with a map. I went to the used book store hoping to find an old world map, and instead found a topography map of our beloved Black Hills! It was perfect….

Course, me being me, I had to take a brand new map and crumple it up, tear the edges, poke holes in it and make it look old and dirty!

Cuz there’s zero fun in a shiny new map….

I love how it turned out, and more importantly so does the Hubs!

If anyone ever catches me buying another piece of furniture with spindles, slap me silly!  I’m totally serious….

I don’t know that the chalk paint is really any less work than regular latex paint because of the waxing process but I like the end results so I’ll use it again.

The other table is one of my super awesome $4 finds at Chef Vivi’s Goodwill. It’s going to be used as a night stand in my spare bedroom. I got it painted and distressed yesterday as well but I want to do some stenciling on it so it’s not finished. It will be part of the upcoming spare bedroom re-do post!

Today I have a double batch of chili and a double batch of beef stew simmering on my stove, both for Hubs to take with him on his Elk hunting trip to Colorado later this week….

Tomorrow I’m going to hold Bambi-Lou’s hand while her daughter has surgery to fix a broken ankle….(say little prayers for them both ok?)

Thursday Little Miss Peanut is coming to see us and spend some time with her Poppa before he leaves for 10 days. I’ll also be baking cornbread muffins, 2 loaves of beer bread and a batch of cookies for him to take as well….

See? Busy Grammy. And, happy Grammy!

🙂

2 thoughts on “I’m not M.I.A, I’m BUSY!

  1. Yesterday I tied a knot in the laundry bag to stop a hole from enlarging. Until now, I thought I was a crafty little thing.
    I stand humbled. That table with the map is awesome.

Leave a Reply

