Free at last, Free at last….well, almost…

So, as you know I’ve hinted at big BIG plans in the works….

They’ve been finalized!

I gave my notice at work yesterday, it was graciously accepted…

I’m retiring! As of the last day of this month, I will be blissfully unemployed!

I just can’t do the job I was hired to do with my back all jacked up, and it won’t heal while I’m trying to do the job. So while I will miss the loss of fun money and my $150 trips to Hobby Lobby when I went there for a $2.00 item, I believe with all my heart that this is the best decision for me. Thankfully Hubs agrees…

I love him. He is so incredibly supportive in all things….He truly is a good, good man.

I had intended to wait and only give the customary 2 weeks notice, mostly because I still vividly recall the conversation I had with the HR person who called to offer me the job 2 years ago; I was asked when I could start and of course I replied that I couldn’t in good conscience give less than 2 weeks notice, I was told “If they let you go when you give your notice, as we do, you can go ahead and start work here.” I didn’t want to be let go earlier than the end of the month as I planned to hoard my last couple of paychecks for a rainy day. But when my supervisor asked to talk to me about something else and that led to a conversation about how displeased they are about my blog ๐Ÿ™‚ which led to my getting all emotional and boo-hooey (I hate that!) I thought “well hell, why wait a week just to have another uncomfortable conversation” and so I just blurted it out. Eek.

It was received with more compassion than I expected, which was very nice. I also offered to fill in this summer while my supervisor is on vacation as I know that even if he hires my replacement today there is no way that person will be trained well enough to cover for him, and he seemed sincerely grateful for the offer.

I left his office feeling so much better than I did when I went in there….

I bear no ill will toward any of my soon-to-be former coworkers, even the one I routinely complain about. I wont miss her, but I wish her well. I will however greatly miss a few…it truly has been one of my favorite places to work, all tongue-in-cheek venting aside.

I’ve had several people tell me that they could never be a stay-at-home wife/Mom, they’d get too bored. I can’t imagine such a predicament! I have enough craft projects alone to keep me busy for the next year, not to mention 60-something unread books on my eReader, plus lots of TV to watch along with afternoons spent with Avery. That’s the best part for me, the freedom to go pick her up whenever I want and just play for a couple of hours instead of only seeing her once a week!

I don’t do “bored”, I have too much imagination and I’m too comfortable being alone with myself to ever be bored for more than a minute….

Also, I’ll be busy being Hubs “Beck and call girl”, that was one of the conditions of early retirement. He never has to do his own laundry again, or do the dishes after supper….it’s a fair trade!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Don’t forget to give your suggestion for the name of my Etsy store so you can win that cute bag!

“Gram’s Retirement Fund” would certainly be an appropriate name!

๐Ÿ™‚

5 thoughts on “Free at last, Free at last….well, almost…

  1. CONGRATULATIONS!

    I don’t understand the “bored” thing either. I work part-time, looong story there but my husband is very supportive too and if I quit tomorrow, he’d support me, emotionally AND monetarily.

    I just saw your “Etsy” store post. SO excited about THAT! I’ll think of a name, would love that bag!! Oh, can I win the super model too? ๐Ÿ˜‰

    SOOOO happy for you Grammy!!

    Big HUGS (((You)))

  2. Yay!!! Now we can make plans for Grammy’s Blogging Tour! You can head out east to see Pamela, then swing down to see Jo and round out the tour with a stop in Seattle!! Please? With sugar on top? I’ll take you to the Needle! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

