Important things….

I ran across this on a “Mommy blog”,  a list of things we should repeat to our children (grandchildren) often. As I read it, I kept thinking “it would be nice to hear that once in a while myself” so I decided to share it with y’all as another lesson in life…

Because grownups could use some encouragement and understanding sometimes too….

1. I love you! There is nothing that will make me stop loving you, nothing you could do or say or think will ever change that. Avery’s going to get sick of hearing this one, I say it to her about 100 times a day when she’s with me!

2. You are amazing! Not just at what you can do, but who you are. There is no one like you. No one! How nice would it be to hear this from another adult?

3. It’s all right to cry. People cry for all kinds of reasons: when they are hurt, sad, glad, or worried; when they are angry, afraid, or lonely. Big people cry too. I do. I’ve never understood people teaching little kids (especially little boys) that crying is something to be ashamed of…

4. You’ve made a mistake. That was wrong. People make mistakes. I do. Is it something we can fix? What can we do? It’s all over. You can start fresh. I know you are sorry. I forgive you. I hope I will always be able to offer Avery this kind of understanding.

5. You did the right thing. That was probably scary or hard. Even though it wasn’t easy, you did it. I am proud of you; you should be too. Wouldn’t it be nice to have the positive choices we make acknowledged? Especially when it was not an easy thing to do….

6. I’m sorry. Forgive me. I made a mistake. This is hard for me, I don’t easily admit when I am wrong. I’m working on that…

7. You can change your mind. Making a decision is a good thing,  but it is also fine to change it. Your choice should feel right in your heart. Not encouraging wishy washy behavior, but sometimes you have to follow your heart instead of your head.

8. What a great idea! You were really thinking! How did you come up with that? Tell me more. I want to always encourage Avery to use her imagination, and to be creative. I see so many kids that just rely on electronics and haven’t a clue how to just “play”…

9. That was kind. You did something helpful and thoughtful for that person. That must make you feel good inside. Thank you! Giving credit where it’s due always makes the other person feel good.

10. I have a surprise for you. It’s not your birthday. It’s for no reason at all. Just a surprise, a little one, but a surprise. Don’t we all love little surprises?? A Hersey’s kiss, a cute card, a post-it with a smiley face…doesn’t have to cost a lot to put a smile on someone’s face. And sometimes it can change a day from bad to good….

11. I can wait. We have time. You don’t have to hurry. I hate to feel rushed…

12. What would you like to do? It’s your turn to pick. You have great ideas. It’s important to follow your interests, and sometimes you don’t know what the other person’s are unless you give them the opportunity to show you…

13. Tell me about it. I’d like to hear more. And then what happened? I made Avery this promise before she was born: I will always listen to what you have to say no matter how busy I am, I will make the time.

14. I’m right here. I won’t leave without saying good-bye. I am watching you and listening to you. I pray Avery never, ever feels abandoned or alone…

15. Please and Thank You. These are important words. If I forget to use them, will you remind me? Good God YES! So few kids are actually taught to be courteous…

16. I missed you. I think about you when we are not together! Sometimes we take the people we love the most for granted, but hearing this when you get home from a long day would feel so good, wouldn’t it?

17. Just try. A little bit. One taste, one step. You might like it. Let’s see. I’ll help you if you need it. I think you can do it. Encourage, encourage, encourage. As adults, I think we forget to try and learn new things, to develop new interests, to broaden our minds…

18. I’ll help you. I heard you call me, here I am.  If we both work together, we can get this done. I know you can do it by yourself, but I’m glad to help since you asked. We all need a hand once in a while, but how often do we get an offer to help? How often to we offer to help another?

19. What do you wish for? Even if it’s not yet time for birthday candles and we don’t have a wishbone, it’s still fun to hear about what you wish for, hope for, and dream about. Hubs and I do this all the time, just talk about our dreams, our wishes. Little dreams, BIG dreams…the important thing is that we HAVE THEM.

We all probably remember to praise and encourage our children, to spend time with them just listening to stories about their day. But don’t we forget to do these same things with the grownups that we love? How much happier would life be if you were reminded of just one of the things on this list every day?

Here’s your reminder for today: I think you are amazing and wonderful and da bomb.com!

I really, really do…

🙂

6 thoughts on “Important things….

  1. I do those for my KIDS but not so much for the adults. Well, I’ve done some of them for some of the adults…but you’re so right! We really do need to let the grownups we care about know how we feel because inside aren’t we all “little kids” ??

    I think you’re da bomb too!

  2. Great idea Lori! I try to do a lot of these already with Hubby and with our grown kids – the ones who we see regularly anyway. A nice tweak that I might try is to incorporate this for the kids who live far away; maybe send them and the grandkids a little note out of the blue. Thanks for the reminder sweets; you so totally rock!! 😀

  3. What a lovely post. As an Irish woman I tend not to verbally express how I feel to my kids or loved ones as often as I should – it’s a cultural failing I share with my fellow countrymen. Today I shall make a big effort to let them know how much I love them, with all my heart. Thanks for this little reminder.

Leave a Reply

