And then I got some stuff done…

I hate that feeling you get when you know the weekend is winding down, and the return of the work week is looming. Why are weekends so fleeting? I’m feeling that feeling already, my weekend slipping away….

And it’s only Sunday morning….

Poo.

The weekend started out a little shaky, Peanut spent the night with us Friday night (YAY!)   She was so good, so sweet and playful now that her colic is gone, even though she’s teething. She took pity on Grammy and slept from 8:30 to about 2 in the morning, had a diaper change and a bottle, snuggled into the crook of my arm (I hated to put her back in her bed!) and fell back asleep until close to 6:00 which is when I realized I had a migraine coming on. (BOO!) Another diaper change, another bottle for her and a mega dose of Motrin for me and back to bed for the both of us in my bed. And we slept another hour or so, enough time for the Motrin to start kicking some migraine butt. It lingered for a while, but diminished enough that I could be  functional. We played for a while, I consumed massive amounts of caffeine and about noon we snuggled up again and took a 2 hour nap together, and we both woke up feeling good!

Saturday night Hubs and I had some yummy Mexican food at a little hole-in-the-wall in Rapid City and then went to watch our local hockey team play, always a hoot! Anyone besides me ever notice how St. Patty’s Day brings out the goofy in people?? Normally conservative people will dye their hair, their beards green and don some crazy-ass accessories!

I wore a green shirt, my claddagh ring, and my triskele earrings, that’s as St. Patty’s decorated as I got…. I giggled quite a bit at people at the game….

Woke up this morning feel pretty darn productive so armed with a cup of java I decorated the pots I bought yesterday at Lowe’s for the herbs I also bought there:

Cute huh?? Pinterest…..:)

Speaking of our trip to Lowe’s…..came this (–) close to shanking a biotch…We’re about 3 steps away from the cashier with an open lane when this heifer jumps from another lane right in front of us and then has the nerve to giggle and say “heehee, you snooze you lose”….not cool. We weren’t snoozing dumbass, we were right there and giving your stupid little fake laugh didn’t make me feel any less stabbity….fyi.

Anyhoo….as I was working on my pots I was a multitasking little fool and started the coals for my first smoked pork shoulder of the grilling season! Pulled pork and sweet tea is like food straight from heaven to a Southerner….

I’m thinking of asking for an electric smoker for my Birthday….Kinda over having to continuously keep coals going for 10 straight hours….Love my Weber, but I’d rather use it for smoking chickens and stuff that cooks much faster than pork shoulders and briskets….plus in transferring hot coals from the coal chimney to the grill a little piece of coal fell on the deck and I stepped on the bastard. Owie. Quick as you could blink your eye it burned a hole through my sock and into my foot….

Also started prepping to make brunch:

Viv’s Eggs Benedict 

Pork Croquette:

  • 1 pound pork sausage (recommended: Country sausage)
  • Oil, if needed
  • 3 baked potatoes
  • 1/4 cup freshly grated Parmesan
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • 1/4 cup sour cream
  • 1 1/4 cups panko bread crumbs
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 tablespoon freshly chopped parsley leaves
  • Vegetable oil, for pan-frying

  • 6 large eggs
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • butter

Hollandaise Sauce:

  • 3 egg yolks
  • 2 tablespoons heavy cream
  • 1 1/2 teaspoonsDijonmustard
  • 2 sticks butter, melted
  • 1/2 lemon, juiced
  • 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • Pinch salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • Dash hot sauce
  • 2 tablespoons chopped chives

Directions

In a heavy bottom skillet, brown sausage over medium heat, break it up as it cooks. When fully cooked, remove the sausage onto paper towel lined plate.

Remove the inside of the potatoes and place a bowl with the Parmesan. Mash with a potato masher until they are smooth. Add the egg, sour cream, 1/4 cup panko bread crumbs, and season with salt and pepper. Add sausage to the bowl with the potatoes and mix well.

With your hands, divide the pork mixture into 1/4 cup portions and flatten so that each croquette is about 1/2-inch thick.

Add 1 cup panko bread crumbs to a shallow dish and add chopped parsley and stir to combine. Dredge croquettes through the panko mixture and repeat.

Heat a heavy bottomed skillet over medium-high heat. Add enough oil to cover the bottom of the pan. Add the croquettes and saute until golden brown and crisp, about 6 minutes per side.

Hold in a 200 degrees F oven while you prepare the eggs and hollandaise.

For the Hollandaise Sauce:

Add yolks, mustard and heavy cream to a blender. Blend until the egg yolks look pale yellow and foamy about 1 minute. Keeping the blender on, slowly stream in the melted butter, making sure it emulsifies fully. Keep blending and add a pinch of salt and pepper, lemon juice, cayenne and hot sauce. Blend again until fully incorporated, then add chives at very end. Keep warm.

For the eggs:

Heat a tablespoon of butter in a non stick skillet over medium heat until hot. Add eggs and baste in batches until the whites are set and the yolks slightly runny. Season with salt and pepper. 

Top a pork croquette with an egg and a spoonful of Hollandaise. Enjoy!

This recipe is so ridiculously good….I don’t make it very often as it’s a little labor intensive but it is definitely worth the effort!

I’m also thinking about making Hubs Oreo Stuffed Chocolate Chip cookies today…he’s gonna wonder what he did to deserve his favorite brunch, cookies and pulled pork! He’ll owe me one, and I’m ok with that….

Oh! I have a beauty item review for ya as well….Last Tuesday I bought some Revlon ColorStay nail polish. I rarely paint my nails as I’m so rough on my hands that a manicure will last a day if I’m lucky. But I was in the mood, I think it was Spring induced….anyway I bought the base coat, top coat and a color I liked. This is how it’s held up after 5 days of ripping open boxes at work, cleaning house, digging charcoal out of the bag with my hands, repotting plants and generally abusing my nails by using them as screwdrivers etc…

The edge has worn a bit, but not a single chip! Impressive as hell, especially for me! You’re welcome!

Hope y’all have had a good weekend, and survive the upcoming work week!

🙂

4 thoughts on “And then I got some stuff done…

  1. Love your herb pots. I must get my act together and start planting this week. Thanks for the recipe. I have never made Eggs Benedict before – must give them a try since I loved to order them when I lived in New York many moons ago.

    – Your little peanut is adorable. Have a great week.

Leave a Reply

