Grammy and Peanut’s Day of Fun!

I had the GrandPeanut all to myself all day Saturday…we had us some adventures!

First, it was a gawguss sunny day so I wanted to take her to the park for a stroll. I had originally intended to take her to one of the parks in Rapid City that has a playground as she’s developed a love of swinging, but as I was driving into town I passed by the new Outdoor Learning Campus West that Luke and I have helped raise funds to build through his Black Hills Sportsman’s organization for the last 3 years and decided to check it out as I haven’t been there since it’s official opening…also, it was way closer!

I was using a stroller that I was unfamiliar with (thank you Auntie Bambi for giving it to us!) and Miss Peanut decided she would rather not be transferred from her carseat to the stroller as Grammy was taking a long time to figure out how the heck the straps worked….She was LOUDLY making her opinions known and in the midst of her temper tantrum her pacifier went flying and ended up under the truck parked next to us…way under.

Oy.

Just as I am about to crawl under there to get it, I hear approaching footsteps and “eh hem” in a decidedly masculine tone and look up to see the owner of truck looking at me with a mixture of amusement and curiosity…

Me: Hi! *flashing my most charming smile* I need to crawl under your truck??

Him: *blink*

Me: Because my Granddaughter *shows him adorable baby with RED FACE* dropped it and it rolled under your truck and it’s the only one I have with us and she’ll be very unhappy without it. *turning up the Southern, batting my eyes and trying to look all girly and helpless* (Because I can. Yes, I believe in being a strong, independent woman who can fend for herself, however I was NOT looking forward to scooching under there on my belly. Parking lots are dirty and I am not above using a man for the yucky stuff.)

Him: Oh let me get that for you….(See? Worked like a charm!)

And the nice Gentleman does, laying on his belly and army crawling under there to get it. BUT it goes to show, no one can resist the Peanut, (mad red face and all) combined with the helpless Southern Belle bit…

Paci all washed up, and I’ve finally figured out the straps so away we go! Our first stop is a beautiful foot bridge, I come around the front of the stroller to point out the duckies in the creek and guess what?

Zzzzzzzzzz.....

And that pretty much sums up our stroll, I push and she naps. I point out various interesting features and she naps….

Not sure what the structure behind her is, but she was totally impressed....

Look Avery! There's a lookout tower you and Poppa can climb!

I’m so happy I could introduce you to such a beautiful, fun place that you can nap in Baby Girl!

She is her Grandfather's Granddaughter, she woke up in time to see the fishing pond....

 

By the time we’re almost done and ready to leave she’s wide awake and so I decide to brave the Mall and take her to see her Mommy as I need to order some new glasses anyway (Brit is a licensed optician at Lenscrafters).

She liked the idea of going to visit Mommy...

I didn’t hate the Mall, people are nicer when you’re pushing a cute baby in a stroller who is smiling at everyone we pass….

And we shopped! I only bought 3 outfits, a faux pearl bracelet, some ruffled socks, a beanie with little bear ears and one pair of shoes for her. I’m really getting good at this restraining myself thing! And 2 pairs of shoes for me…

Come on, how could I resist???

I feel that by taking her shoe shopping I'm teaching her about the important things in life....

And look! We ran into Auntie Bambi and Kianah! Cuz I couldn’t possible spoil Peanut enough all by myself, reinforcements were needed!

And then we came home, mostly cuz Grammy spent enough money. Plus, Poppa was having baby withdrawals. See that smile? That’s cuz Poppa talked to her…definitely Poppa’s girl….

The hat....I die.

And now y’all understand why I didn’t get my stupid sewing homework done don’t ya?? I had way more important things to do….

Avery takes precedence over tote bag fiasco’s, along with pretty much EVERYTHING ELSE!

🙂

4 thoughts on “Grammy and Peanut’s Day of Fun!

  1. It’s SO nice to have a Southern Gentleman around to army crawl under trucks when the situation arises! Glad you saved the pacifier! Phew! Saved moola to buy ADORABLE shoes! Oh.my.gawd.they.are.precious! I almost want to buy a pair just because!

    I can definitely see why Poppa has Avery withdraw! She is one precious, darling, beautiful bundle!

    Screw the sewing homework, Avery is WAY too much fun…from what I can see!

    Plus Seam-Nazi deserves some anxiety. I say, give it to her big time! 😉

  2. “I feel that by taking her shoe shopping I’m teaching her about the important things in life….” – ABSOLUTELY! And the shoes were adorable! Sounds like you and Avery had a fabulous day and of course she comes before homework!

Leave a Reply

