Oh woe is we….

No more Twinkies???? Those decadent cupcakes with the sinful ribbon of white icing swirled on top, GONE???? FOREVER?????? Curs-ed monkey pants!!

Gone??? WHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA! *sniffle*

SAY.IT.AINT.SO….

Puh-puh-pweeeeeeese????

According to news reports, Hostess brands is preparing to file Chapter 11 bankruptcy. Again. Which means luckily, we can still enjoy their wares. So YAY US! Apparently those Hostess peeps are good with the tasty pastry treats, not so much with the money handling…. Because I’m such a giver, I’m gonna do my part help out. Plus, I love those little cupcakes….and the Wonder Bread. Who didn’t love the WonderBread growing up??? Hmmmm??? No one, that’s who.

Twinkies are a national treasure y’all….In fact, I think we should all make this right now, in honor of the Almighty Twinkie.

Strawberry Twinkie Dessert

  • 4 cups sliced fresh strawberries
  • 1 18.75 oz can ready-to-us strawberry glaze
  • 8 Twinkies
  • 1 8 oz package softened cream cheese
  • 1 14 oz can sweetened condensed milk
  • 1 12 oz container cool-whip, thawed
  1. Combine strawberries and glaze in a bowl, set aside.
  2. Slice Twinkies in half lengthwise.
  3. In a mixing bowl, beat cream cheese and condensed milk until smooth, fold in cool-whip.
  4. To Assemble, layer 1/2 the Twinkie halves, 1/2 cream cheese mixture and 1/2 strawberries in trifle bowl, then repeat layers with remaining ingredients. Chill for 30 minutes before serving, store covered leftovers in the fridge.

We can help out a floundering company and fatten up for the winter at the same time. It's all about the multitasking y'all...

I googled that recipe (See, I told y’all GTS was the bomb). Hell, let’s all google Twinkie and Hostess cupcake recipes, together we can show Hostess some collective love!

Wait……

Holy Poop Knuckles!!! No one sells Hostess products in my area!!!  This is “Little Debbie’s” country…..and now I’m in a quandary. Ain’t that some shizzle?? Good thing I also found this recipe for Hostess Cupcake clones  at Bettycrocker.com so we can make our own dang cupcakes….’cuz Betty loves us…

 Hmmmmm…..maybe I can’t help after all. And now I’m hungry for cakey goodness. Thanks Hostess. Thanks a bunch…..

 🙂

7 thoughts on “Oh woe is we….

  1. Grammy, thanks for the visual aids, now I’m STARVING!

    I just LOVE those cupcakes. I just might go buy a few…hundred boxes. Yes, I COULD bake my own cupcakes, but they just aren’t the same (and I don’t cook or bake)! But how do I keep a hundred boxes of cupcakes fresh?

    Great Balls of Fire Twinkie People! Did you NOT learn anything in basic math class?

  2. [sheepishly raising hand] I did not love Wonder bread [ducks]. It always got gummy and stuck in my teeth :(. But I’m right there with you on the Twinkies and the Cupcakes! Now I need to try that recipe with the strawberries!

    • But Bubbe, that stickiness was the best part! I was always so pissed when my Mom bought the icky wheat bread, and so I took my revenge on my girls and refused to buy them the worthless white bread! They still resent me for it…BAHAHAHAHAHAHHAA!

  3. I must make a confession, so bless me America, for I have sinned.

    I have never eaten a Twinkie! Not even one!

    So glad to get that off my chest!

    If I need to eat a Twinkie to really become an American, then I better go get some before they are all gone.

Leave a Reply

