Happy Birthday Baby…

My Boss had to be out of town Thursday and Friday, I’m his backup at work, so I kinda needed to be there…I teased Britt that she was absolutely, positively NOT allowed to go into labor til Friday afternoon at the earliest. Being the uber stubborn type, she of course called me Wednesday evening to say she was in labor. For reals….

Thank you to my co-workers who not only had to cover my job, but cover me covering the Boss’s job as well….oops…

So the festivities went something like this:

11/2/11 7:15 pm’ish…*ring ring* “hello?” “hey Mom, whatcha doing?” “not much, eating dinner, watching the Sons” (Sons of Anarchy, my only tv obsession, love me some Jax. Yum!) “Oh, well….wanna go have a baby tonight??”

11/2/11 7:30 pm’ish…Try really hard NOT  to drive over 85 mph on the way to the hospital. Fail. Miserably….

11/2/11 8:30 pm’ish…Yay! Not another false alarm, Britt’s being admitted to hospital! Call Poppa and some work peeps to let them know we are GO FOR BABY!!

 Mommy is thrilled to have me snapping photos. Thrilled…

 I told Poppa he looked like Edith Ann….he was not amused…

He also wanted to make sure his name was on the “support team” list, although he specified that he would be supportive from the waiting room when it was delivery time…wimp.

But he was very supportive right up until it was time for any kind of goo to appear. He’s not so good with the goo…

11/3/11 1:00 am’ish….Peanut’s big Sister Shelby squeezed in a nap…I could write a book about how wonderful this girl is. Other than Avery herself, Shelby is the only good thing to come from Britt’s brief relationship with the Sperm Donor. While he has made a decision not to be involved, She has made a committment to her Baby Sister. She is warm, funny, smart and will be the best role model for Avery. She is forever a welcome part of my family. *sniff* I heart her…

 11/3/11 6:21 am our Avery is born! 6:21 and 30 seconds I get my first chance at a picture!! Covered in goo, still crazy beautiful!! I cried. I cried alot….A LOT…

Not so opposed to a picture now! Happy Mommy!

This is Derek. He and Britt met when she was about 5 months pregnant. Avery was born with Derek holding Mommy’s hand and Grammy wiping the sweat from Mommy’s brow. He’s a good man. Since the position of Daddy is open, he’s submitting his resume’. We’ll see if he makes it past Poppa’s rigorous, lengthy and totally invasive application process.

I adore baby feet…

First bath. Avery was.not.a.fan….

Not even a little bit…

But here’s what we’ve discovered about our wonderous Avery….she gets happy as soon as the issue is resolved, she doesn’t hold a grudge!

Poppa loves her…

As does Grammy! And everyone who’s met her, plus a bunch who haven’t been officially introduced, poor Auntie Viv is beside herself at having to wait until December to get her hands on the Peanut….

No one can resist her charms….

🙂

2 thoughts on “Happy Birthday Baby…

Leave a Reply

