Marinara X2…

So, here’s what ya do when a friend of your daughters brings you a BIG honkin’ bag of yellow and red cherry tomatoes and you DON’T EAT TOMATOES! You make marinara….lots of marinara…I could have made lots of salsa, but didnt have any tortilla chips and a trip to town was just too much trouble….I always have pasta fixins….

I’d had my eye on this recipe for Yellow Marinara for a while and just couldn’t find the yellow tomatoes. The original recipe called for heirloom yellows which was not happening so I used a kajillion of the itty bitty cherry ones….totally turned out fine.

Here’s the original recipe which I adapted from this one on the foodnetwork.

  • 5 yellow beefsteak tomatoes, washed, core removed, a small “x” cut on the bottom of each
  • 3/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil
  • 10 cloves garlic, peeled and sliced thin
  • 3 large shallots, peeled and sliced
  • 1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • Kosher salt
  • Freshly ground white pepper
  • 1 tablespoon dried oregano
  • 1 teaspoon granulated sugar
  • 1/3 cup rice wine vinegar
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 25 to 30 basil leaves, washed and dried
  • Grated Parmesan, to taste

Put the tomatoes in a pot of boiling water for about 2 minutes to blanche them then remove them to a large bowl of ice water. When cool, peel them and squish out the seeds and jelly stuff.

I skipped the peeling step because who in their right mind is going to peel 78 cherry tomatoes?? Not me…

In a medium skillet, heat a tablespoon of the olive oil and add the garlic, shallots, and red pepper flakes. Season with salt and pepper. Add the oregano and sugar. Stir to blend. Allow to cook, over low heat, until the shallots and garlic become tender and translucent.

If you used the big tomatoes, chop them up and add them to the garlic-ey mixture. I just threw all the baby ones in the pan, seeds, goo and all…I’m a rebel.

Simmer for about 20 minutes, squishing the tomatoes up as they cook.

Pour the sauce into the blender and through the little opening in the top of the blender lid slowly add the remaining olive oil and the vinegar while pureeing. Add the basil leaves.

I didn’t have rice vinegar so I used about a tablespoon of balsamic. The sauce needed something so I added about a 1/4 cup heavy cream. That did the trick and it was YUMMY!

I grilled a couple of chicken breasts, sliced them on the diagonal and mixed that in with the sauce and Penne pasta topped LIBERALLY with parmesan.

 It was tasty! Slightly less acidic than it’s red cousin…I liked it!

And thennnnn…..

I’d been heariing alot of good things about Giada De Laurentiis Marinara sauce recipe so I adapted that to use the red cherry tomatoes.

Giada’s Marinara

  • 1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 small onion, finely chopped
  • 1 garlic clove, finely chopped
  • 1 celery stalk, finely chopped
  • 1 carrots, peeled and finely chopped
  • 1/2 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 (32-ounce) cans crushed tomatoes
  • 1 dried bay leaves

I of course left out the canned crushed tomatoes which is what I normally use in my marinara and used up the 50 million fresh baby ones I had…

In a large pot, heat the oil over a medium-high heat. Add the onions and garlic and saute until the onions are translucent, about 10 minutes. Add the celery, carrots, and 1/2 teaspoon each of salt and pepper. Saute until all the vegetables are soft, about 10 minutes. Add the tomatoes and bay leaves, and simmer uncovered over low heat until the sauce thickens, about 1 hour. Remove and discard the bay leaves. Season the sauce with more salt and pepper, to taste.

I blanched then iced the red tomatoes just like I did for the yellows. I added them to the pot after sauteing the onions and garlic along with the carrots and celery. I poured it into a blender to make is smoother after it simmered for an hour…

It was good, and had a very fresh taste but to be honest I missed the lack of basil. And mine was orange from usng fresh tomatoes instead of that pretty classic red color you get from using the canned…

 I froze my sauce and will use it next week when I make the Manicotti Hubs requested…

So there ya have it, two ways to use up fresh ‘maters when you’re too lazy to drive 8 miles to get a bag of tortilla chips….

Enjoy!

🙂

 

2 thoughts on “Marinara X2…

Leave a Reply

