It’s Fall people, get to Braising!

Those of you who love and adore me (you know who you are) know that I love me some braised foods….

Those of you who don’t yet love and adore me….get with the program would ya???

So braising….it’s a magical thing that happens to meat and veggies when you brown them nicely and then add some broth and wine and cook them slowly. They become devine, succulent,  tantalizing morsels of NomNom….it’s not stewing. There’s a difference, you can read about it Here.

Fall is the official start of braising season around here….so here ya go, the first of many braising recipes!

Short Ribs with Wine and Cream (Original recipe courtesy of my Hero, The Pioneer Woman)

  • 12 whole Short ribs
  • Salt And Pepper, to taste
  • 3 Tablespoons Olive Oil
  • 1 cup Red Wine
  • 2 cups Beef Broth Or Beef Stock
  • 2 Tablespoons Minced Fresh Rosemary
  • 2 Tablespoons Grainy Mustard
  • 1 cup Heavy Cream
  • 2 Tablespoons Capers
  • 16 ounces mushrooms of choice
  • Olive Oil, For Drizzling
  • Pasta (optional)
  • 4-6 whole carrots (also optional)

First off, I used white wine instead of red because that’s what I had. I read somewhere that you should cook with the wine you like to drink….or maybe I made it up, whatever…

Second off (??), in typical glorious Pioneer Woman fashion, Ree served her velvety, saucy short ribs a top a pile of fabulous mushrooms…about 4 different kinds of fabulous mushrooms! I didn’t which broke my heart but we’ll get to that in a minute….

Start by heating some olive oil in a large heavy skillet over medium/high heat. Salt and pepper the ribs and add to hot oil.

You want to sear the ribs, letting them get beautiful and brown…

Like this….yum! This only takes a minute or two on each side. You’re only browning, not cooking through…Remove the ribs to a plate.

Now, because I’m a rebel and do things my own way,  I wanted to add some carrots to this recipe, because braised carrots are a revelation….so I scrubbed them as opposed to peeling them and trimmed the ends. Cut them in half, then in half lengthwise. Brown them in the same pan, starting with flat side down. This only takes a couple of minutes on each side also…

Beautiful color…and the natural sugar in the carrots carmelizes slightly giving these little babies a rich, scrumptious flavor.

Remove the carrots to the same plate the ribs are resting on and add the wine and broth to the pan, scraping the bottom with a whisk to deglaze the pan.

Add the minced rosemary. I love the smell of rosemary…

Bring to a simmer.

 Add the ribs back to pan, then the carrots on top. Reduce heat to low and simmer, covered for 2 1/2 to 3 hours, or put in the oven at 300 for the same amount of time. Either way is fine…

 At the end of the cooking time, remove the pan from oven (if you cooked yours that way, like me) and remove the ribs and carrots from the pan to a clean plate. Add the cream, mustard and capers to broth. (I always skim the extra fat off as much as I can) bring to a gentle boil over medium/high heat to let the sauce thicken a little.

While the sauce is cooking, you can do one of two things (or both if you’re like me)…My Hubs won’t eat a mushroom to save his life (this is where my broken heart comes in) so I cooked some Angel Hair pasta for him to put his ribbies on top of. I also sauteed some Baby Bella’s for me because I ain’t afraid of eating fungus…fungi?? Whatever…mushrooms are da bomb…

So cook the pasta…

And saute the mushrooms in a little olive oil while the sauce bubbles…

When your pasta is cooked, drain it and do this:

Why yes, yes that is a half a stick of butter…is there a problem with that?? The recipe has a cup of heavy cream for crying out loud, all hope of this being a low fat meal is out the window already so just do it! Put the pasta back in the pan and toss until the butter is melted, add a little salt and pepper…

Put the ribs back in the pan with the sauce and turn to coat…

Place some pasta and/or mushrooms on a plate, add a couple of ribs, some carrots and drizzle a generous amount of the yummy-nummy sauce over the whole thing….

And dig in!!

🙂

 

One thought on “It’s Fall people, get to Braising!

Leave a Reply

