Huntin’ widow cooking, part 2

This is another one of the recipes I made while getting the Hubs ready to go a’ huntin….Its way yummy and easy. We had it atop black beans and rice the first night and I intended to shred the leftover chicken and roll it up in tortillas the second night. Problem was there were no leftovers!  And that, my friends is a good problem to have!

Chicken In Adobo Sauce (adapted from a recipe from Chef Fabio Viviani)

6-8 chicken thighs
1 cup white vinegar
1 cup water
1 cup soy sauce
10 garlic cloves, crushed
1 1/2 tsp green  peppercorn
3 bay leaf
11/2 tsp mustard seeds
3  green onions

If you’re observant you will notice that  black peppercorns and dry mustard are pictured, ’cause that’s what I had on hand so that’s what I used….it’s called creative license!

Anyhoo, here’s how I handled the garlic: I gave the cloves a whack with a can of beans I had sitting on the counter to use in my Chili, because I am a  multi-tasking fool and was making 2 recipes at the same time! When you give a clove of garlic a good whack the skin practically falls off which means you don’t have to get that icky-sticky feeling on your hands. You’re welcome for the tip…once I got all the cloves peeled I put them on the cutting board and smashed the bejeezus out of them.

Now in retrospect, having guinea-pigged this recipe I will just use the garlic press next time. I ended up straining the big pieces out and running them through the food processor before I served the sauce. If you’re not bothered by big hunks o’ garlic then do it Fabio’s way!

Next chop up the green onions…

 I love green onions….

Throw them in the bowl with the garlic, then add all the other ingredients except the chicken…

Give everything a good whisk and set aside while you work on the chicken…

Since the chicken wasn’t getting browned beforehand, I took the skin off, and trimmed the pieces up. I just thought leaving the skin on would make it all kinda smooshy and blech….it’s your call…

Put the chicken in the pan you’re going to cook it in, and pour the sauce over the top. Cover and let marinade for 2 hours at room temperature.

 At the end of the marinating time, put the pan over medium heat and start the cooking process. Once it comes to boil, turn the heat down a little and let it simmer uncovered  for about an hour to let the sauce reduce. Turn the chicken over from time to time.

Now, if you’ve been a busy woman all day like I have, you go ahead and make yourself a big ‘ol glass of Iced Chai Latte to relax with while dinner is cooking…

When the sauce thickened and the chicken was nice and tender, I removed the chicken from pan and cut it off the bone just to make it easier to eat ’cause we were starving and I was afraid my crew would be in such a hurry they’d choke on a bone…safety first!

The other change I will make next time is to not use the whole peppercorns. It was a bit much when you bit into one! I’ll sub 1/2 teaspoon or so of freshly ground pepper instead…

 

My Hubs is usually skeptical of any new recipe I try, he’s terminally afraid I’ll sneak in some yucky stuff….he pronounced this one “effing good!”….That’s high praise ya’ll!

Enjoy!

🙂

2 thoughts on “Huntin’ widow cooking, part 2

Leave a Reply

