Better late than never? Or, I’m a procrastinator…

Remember the recipe contest from several weeks ago??? The one Chef Vivi won by default??? The one where I said I’d post the winning recipe like the next week and never did??? Well here it is, now stop nagging me!! (Ok, no one has nagged, but I kinda wish you would have, it would have showed you were paying attention…)

I made this Saturday morning to take to a close family friend who had back surgery. It was very quick to put together which was exactly what I needed as I was also cooking like a fiend for Vivi’s bridal shower later that day….

Baked Chicken in Wine Sauce

4 boneless skinless chicken breasts

4 tablespoons butter, plus a little more for casserole dish

Kosher salt and freshly ground pepper to taste

6 oz (about 8 slices) Swiss cheese

1 can condensed cream of chicken soup

¼ cup white wine

1 cup herb flavored stuffing mix, crushed

 

 

 

 

 

 

Preheat oven to 350. Butter a large shallow baking dish, add chicken to dish and season with salt and pepper.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Layer the cheese slices on top. (I only had a block of Swiss, so I grated mine and sprinkled it on top)….

 

 

 

 

 

 

In a medium mixing bowl, whisk soup and wine, season with salt and pepper and pour over the cheese.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Put the dry stuffing mix n a large ziplock bag and crush it. I used the flat side of my meat tenderizer…Good for getting out any pent up anger!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then sprinkle it on top of soup mixture.

 

 

 

 

 

 Melt the 4 tablespoons of butter and drizzle it over the stuffing crumbs. Bake for 45 minutes.

 

 

 

 

 

 

I made some garlic mashed potatoes to serve with this. I got a report that the family loved it!

*Update* I made this for us tonight, and it was very very good!

Enjoy and Thank Chef Vivi!

🙂

4 thoughts on “Better late than never? Or, I’m a procrastinator…

Leave a Reply

