A Bumper Crop of Zucchini…

Our friends-who-might-as-well-be-family, The Cannons, are on vacation so Luke is babysitting their garden for them while they are gone. I don’t know what they put on their zucchini but not only is it ABUNDANT but the fruits themselves are HUGE!! Since Luke brought home a bagful, I think I’ll feature recipes over the next few days that will hopefully inspire some of you to take advantage of your own bumper crops!

Chocolate Pudding Zucchini Muffins

  • 3 eggs, beaten
  • 1 c. cooking oil
  • 1 1/4 c. sugar
  • 1 large package chocolate instant pudding
  • 2 c. grated zucchini
  • 2 tsp. vanilla
  • 3 c. all purpose flour
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 c. chopped nuts (optional)

 I made 2 changes to the original recipe which came from Amy’s Finer Things. I substituted Splenda for the sugar which I do quite a bit, the only difference I can ever tell in my baked goods is the Splenda versions are slightly less sweet which I don’t mind.  I also used a small box of pudding (3.4 oz) instead of the large (5.1 oz) she called for because one small box was all I had on Saturday when I wanted to make these and didn’t want to drive to town. Mine are good, but not as chocolatey as they should have been. Don’t be like me….:)

Preheat your oven to 350…

 

 See? That grater I talked you into buying for your bulk cheese comes in handy for other things too! I got the 2 cups of grated zucchini I needed out of 1 mongo sized fruit, but you may need 2 if your zucchinis are normal sized…

Dump the zucchini in a big mixing bowl, add the dry pudding mix, the sugar (or Splenda), the vanilla and the beaten eggs.

  Then the oil… 

 I am willing to bet if you wanted to make these super healthy, you could substitute a cup of mashed ripe bananas for the cup of oil. I have done that in brownies and they’re good. I didn’t have bananas, maybe I should have made that trip into town… 

 Doesn’t that look yummy?? Bwahaha!

 Better?! Now add the flour, baking soda, salt and baking powder. Stir until its all well combined. Mine seemed really thick, so I added 2 Tablespoons of water and that helped…

 Next, spoon into a greased muffin pan.

 Mine baked perfectly in 19 minutes, the recipe says 15-20….

  Done! Moist and yummy, although since mine only have half the chocolate they’re supposed to, I may put Chocolate frosting on them!!! (God forbid I make anything too healthy!)

Enjoy!

🙂

Leave a Reply

