Confessions of a Bookworm

I was born a bookworm. I had a bike as a kid but never really got the hang of riding it on the dirt road and besides, where was I gonna go? My friends lived miles away. My neighbors were mostly elderly and we got 2 channels on our TV. Mom worked nights so during the day in the summertime I was on my own alot while she slept.  So I read. I would lay outside on the upstairs balcony of our house and read. Sometimes I would climb over the balcony railing and lay on the roof of the garage. I rode my horse, BabyDoll,  out into the woods, found nice comfy spots on top of boulders, or in trees, or beside the creek, and I read. Sometimes I just sprawled across the back of the horse and read while she grazed. For hours, all day if I had my chores done….I checked out books 10 at a time when Mom took me to the library and then finished them in a week. I re-read books I had already finished, sometimes reading the same book multiple times. I read my Moms books which were not always age appropriate. And I will never, ever forget the day my neighbor, Miss Tracy Atkins loaned me her childhood copy of Anne of Green Gables. The pages were brittle and had that smell that old houses get. I must have read that book 20 times that summer…

My taste in books changes from time to time. For a while it might be WhoDunits, or futuristic novels, westerns by Larry McMurtry, gut wrenching tear jerkers ala Nicholas Sparks, Supernatural books, I’ve run the gamut. Although I’ve never been into Harlequinesque type books. And I’ve always had an avid interest in period novels, hence the reason I am now 362 pages into the 1116 page “The Autobiography of Henry VIII” which isn’t an autobiography at all but written by a woman named Margaret George. I hope to finish it by Christmas. This Christmas….

I like finding authors who write books in a series. I’m always sad when I finish a good book, with a series I just start the next one and the story goes on! I read the Twilight series by Stephanie Meyers and yes, I enjoyed it! I’ve read all of  and eagerly await the release of each new installment of the Stephanie Plum books by Janet Evanovich, ditto the Sookie Stackhouse books by Charlaine Harris. And I am working my way thru the Anita Blake series by Laurell K. Hamilton. I’ve read the entire Skye O’Malley saga by Bertrice Small along with a good amount of her other books. There is nothing like a Bertrice Small novel for Elizabethian era intrique, true historical facts mixed with a healthy dose of kanoodling! I couldn’t get enough of the Outlander books by Diana Gabaldon, read them with a voracious appetite until suddenly I just couldn’t get thru the last one I had. Just like that I was over Claire and Jamie….Not sure why, its very rare for me to give up on a book midway. After several years of ignoring her new releases I recently re-read the first one and thoroughly enjoyed it all over again….

I currently have 54 unread books on my Ebook. And I’m ok with that, it gives me a warm fuzzy feeling to know it’ll be a long time before I run out of something new to read…..

🙂

One thought on “Confessions of a Bookworm

Leave a Reply

