Bucket Dumpers…

When Vivi was in grade school she came home one day and said her teacher told the class that everyone fit into one of two catagories: Bucket Fillers and Bucket Dumpers, the Bucket being a metaphor for one’s feelings, and sense of self worth. So if you’re a Bucket Filler you do what you can to make others feel better about themselves and the world around them. A Bucket Dumper on the other hand takes whatever self esteem you have and spits on it, they try to poke holes in your bucket so that it can never really be full….

 

The Blatent Bucket Dumper, note the sour face…

I’m not a fan of the Bucket Dumpers. Not even a little bit. I’ve known several over the course of my life and it took ALOT of putty and bondo to fill the holes they left in my bucket. I still know a few, and do my best to distance myself from them and let their perpetual bad moods  just roll off me.  Sometimes they make this difficult to accomplish. You know the ones,  they maintain a sour expression. They don’t smile and often  return your pleasant greeting with a grunt. I’ve never understood that. A cheerful “Good Morning”  or a “Hello” only takes a second to return, but that grunt of disdain may take the person who recieved it all day to shake off…

The Ninja Dumper, rotten on the inside…

The worst kind of Bucket Dumper is the Ninja Dumper. This one is harder to spot at first but after repeated exposure you can pick them out of a line up. These are the people who smile, exchange pleasantries but under the polished exterior they are lacking a heart. They may chitchat with you,  and then make light of  your opinion. They demean and embarrass all the while protesting that they are “just joking”.  They won’t hesitate to throw you under the bus if they think it will make themselves look better….Ninja Dumpers feed off the amount of misery they can inflict on others.  They are expert at deflecting the blame for their own mistakes….

My philosophy is “I’m going to believe today will be a good day, til someone proves otherwise“….I try to be pleasant, and cheerful.  A Bucket Dumper can change my whole mood in the blink of an eye however. And once my mood goes downhill it’s realllllly difficult to elevate it again.  I stew….I fret…..and unfortunately, I sometimes end up dumping someone elses bucket though I try to apologize for it later.  We all have our bad days, its part of life. But for a true Bucket Dumper it is the rule, rather than the exception. I always wonder why they are like that? Do they truly have no joy in their lives? And what happened to rob them of it?? And more often than not, I end up not only irritated at them but feeling pity for them as well…

The Bucket Filler, she wants to bake you cookies….

Let’s all make a pledge to fill, and not dump each others Buckets. Maybe bake some cookies….Deal?

🙂

 

 

