Gah! What the heck’s for dinner???

CONTEST!!!

What the heyday do you call a cook’s version of writer’s block?? Anybody???

Call it what you will, I have it. I’m standing in front of the open freezer door, waiting for something to jump out and say “Hello there Grammy! Cook me!! Serve me with ____! I’ll be so tasty you won’t believe it! Luke will think you’re a culinary Goddess!!” ……It ain’t happenin’…..

Now normally I make a menu for the week and base my grocery shopping list off that. The purpose of this is to have all the ingredients I need on hand. This is not a fail-proof system. It only works if A) I remember to put everything I need on said list, and B) I remember to buy everything I put on the dang list. (This may seem like a given, You write something on a list, you buy it. It goes home with you and gives you nice warm fuzzy feelings that your pantry is well stocked. EXCEPT…you go down your list, crossing things off as you add them to the cart, you’re in the produce section and you notice you have lost your place on the list somewhere along the way because on your list, not crossed off,  is steak sauce. You think to yourself “Self, when you are finished here in produce, you head back over to the condiment aisle and pick up that steak sauce “  EXCEPT you pass by the baking aisle on the way, cuz the next thing on the list is All Purpose Flour so you stop by there to get it and Ta Dahhhhh! Your need for steak sauce has totally escaped your brain. You no longer remember it even exists. You will remember it 4 days later when you grill steaks and your spouse asks “Honey, where’s the steak sauce?”  and he ends up running to the neighborhood convenience store for a SEVEN DOLLAR  bottle of steak sauce, of which he complains about the price for days…..It’s an age thing. Don’t be like me….oy) Wait….Where was I?? Oh yeah, I don’t know what in the samhill to make for dinner….My brain has become a mushy abyss where recipes go to die….it is blank. Empty I tell ya…..So I didnt make a menu. I bought random things I thought I might need, which of course is a total waste of time cuz how many jars of Red Thai Chili Paste do you really need???

So, Your mission, should you choose to accept it is this:

GIMME SOME IDEAS!!!!!! I’m talking middle of the work week-ready in less than an hour-doesn’t call for a kajillion ingredients dinner ideas that will cause my Hubs to make Yum-Yum noises. (If it inspires him to shout out “Honey, you are the Queen of the culinary world! All hail the Queen!!!” I’ll buy you lunch…if you’re local…wait…….scratch that….Forget I mentioned lunch! I NEVER go out for lunch, that’s why God created leftovers. And I’m cheap… You’ll have my undying gratitude, how’s that???

So here’s the rules:

I live with Mr Picky. He won’t eat parsnips or any “yucky stuff”. If you’re not sure what the definition of “yucky stuff” is ask a 3 year old. If they won’t eat it neither will he….*sigh*  

Type your recipe (or copy/paste it) in the “Comments” section of this post. (If you’re a off-the-top-of-your-head cook like me and don’t necessarily use a recipe, just gimme the jist of it, I’ll figure it out!)

All entries must be submitted by this Thursday evening, the 28th.

I’ll choose the top 3 yummiest sounding, most intriguing entries  in time to put the ingredients I need on Friday’s shopping list. I’ll test all 3 out and the winning recipe will be featured in a blog next week with due credit given to the person who submitted it! You could become famous!!! Bobby Flay may choose to do a “showdown” with you!!!! You could be on the Today show, demonstrating your culinary prowess!!!!! ORRRRR….I could think of you fondly every time I make your recipe in the future and Lukey makes Yum-Yum noises, that’s good too right???

Ready, set, GO!!!

🙂

5 thoughts on “Gah! What the heck’s for dinner???

  1. I made this last night and Captain America made lots of yum-yum noises 🙂 I served it with scalloped potatoes but I think any potato side would work 🙂

    Baked Chicken in Wine Sauce

    Ingredients
    • 4 large skinless boneless chicken breasts
    • 4 tablespoons butter, melted, plus more for casserole
    • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
    • 6 ounces (about 8 slices) Swiss cheese
    • 1 (10 3/4-ounce) can condensed cream of chicken soup
    • 1/4 cup white wine
    • 1 cup herb-flavored stuffing mix, crushed
    Directions
    Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.
    Add the chicken to a shallow buttered casserole and season with salt and pepper, to taste. Layer the cheese slices on top.
    In a medium bowl, add the soup and the wine, season with salt and pepper and pour over the cheese. Sprinkle stuffing mix on top and drizzle with melted butter.* Bake for 45 minutes. Remove from the oven and serve.

Leave a Reply

