Me-Oh-My I Like Pie…

Actually, I myself am more of a cake girl, but  Chef Vivi made this pie last weekend and it had my mouth watering….Hers turned out so much prettier than mine, (the photo of the pie on my home page header is hers, she’s a better photographer too!)  but mine tasted juuuussst dandy! I believe she got the recipe from Bon Appetit Magazine,  but of course I had to adapt it to suit myself, cuz thats how I roll! I messed up and forgot to buy a box of Pillsbury Ready Pie Crust, so I made my own. Luke said its the best he’s ever had…(go figure, no more handy ready-made for me, dang it) I got the recipe from my Hero, The Pioneer Woman. If you’ve never read her blog,  go do it immediately! You’ll thank me for it….:) Here’s a link for the crust recipe: http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/2007/12/p-p-p-pie_crust_and_its_p-p-p-perfect/

Stone Fruit Lattice Pie

8-10 peaches (I used a mix of White and Yellow) peeled and sliced **the original recipe as written called for nectarines and yellow peaches, but I had white peaches so that’s what I used, I’m a daredevil!**

8-10 plums, sliced

1/2 cup + 1 Tablespoon sugar

3 Tablespoon cornstarch

1/4 teaspoon nutmeg

1 beaten egg

1 teaspoon vanilla

 Pretty! I love the colors…I blanched my peaches for a couple of minutes, it makes peeling them a breeze. I sliced them then cut the slices in half, cuz I don’t like big pieces. Don’t ask me why….

Put all the sliced fruit in a big bowl and add the 1/2 cup of sugar. Toss to coat and let stand for an hour, tossing again every so often. Strain the fruit, reserving 1/4  cup of the juice. Whisk the reserved juice, the cornstarch and the nutmeg until smooth and toss this concoction with the fruit. Pour into an unbaked pie shell. (Please feel free to use the Pillsbury, making one from scratch will only cause the Peeps in your life to demand you never use store bought again….Don’t be like me, learn from my mistake!)

 THAT is one ugly pie crust. Don’t judge me! Apparently, pretty ain’t everything….I saved you the horror that was the next step by not photographing the weaving process. No one needs the nightmares. You’re welcome….

So if you’re brave, make a lattice crust. If not,  put a top crust on the thing and cut some big slits in it and tell folks that’s how it was ‘sposed to be!

Brush the crust lightly with the beaten egg, then sprinkle with the remaining Tablespoon of sugar. Put on a foil or parchment paper lined baking sheet and bake 40 minutes at 400. Turn the oven down to 350 and bake another 40 minutes. (that seemed like a looooong time to me so I verified it with Chef Vivi, she assured me that my pie would not be a blackened lump of charred nastiness after all that time. And she was right….I hate when it turns out the student knows more than the teacher…the Brat!)

 

 

 I have a confession. I had never before tackled a lattice crust. They scare me. But the name of the stupid pie has Lattice in it so I felt pressured….Turns out my fears were legit. I proudly admit however, that I figured out the easy way to do it about 3/4 of way through the process. I’m sharp as a tack like that. Oy….

 

 

 Are ya hungry yet?? Mmmmmm….You know you want to go out and buy some peaches!  While you’re at the store, buy a small carton of Heavy Whipping Cream. Beat 1 cup cream with 1 Teaspoon vanilla and 2 Tablespoons sugar on high speed ’til it looks like Cool-Whip. (If you want to make it an orgasmic experience make the vanilla “Madagascar Bourbon Vanilla Bean Paste”….It will change your life. I will never EVER buy vanilla extract again) You’ll sing my praises after you taste this on your pie, I promise!

 Yummy Huh?? I wish you could see the tiny little flecks of vanilla bean in the Whipped Cream. The Hubster fell madly in love with this pie, betcha your Peeps will too!

Enjoy! 🙂

One thought on “Me-Oh-My I Like Pie…

Leave a Reply

